Montgomery Township Committee 2008

Candidate Questionnaire Responses 2008

Montgomery Township Committee (three year term)

The League of Women Voters of the Princeton Area is publishing the verbatim responses of candidates to questions asked by the League. Responses were limited to 150 words.

Kacey Dyer, Republican

I am a lifelong Montgomery resident, a University of Vermont graduate, and a successful businesswoman, having worked in the financial industry for over eight years. I am an Assistant Vice President at Merrill Lynch, with the business skills to get taxes and borrowing under control and bring needed change.

Keith L. Hovey, Democrat

I am an attorney specializing in general real estate, redevelopment, and construction litigation. Prior to law school, I worked as a nurse in open-heart intensive care and now serve on Montgomery 's Board of Health. My wife, Rebecca, and I are homeowners and taxpayers and are expecting our first child.

Are you satisfied with the township's approach to developing Skillman Village? If yes, please explain why. If no, please explain what should be done differently.

Ms. Dyer:

No. Of the Township's staggering $63 million debt, $27 million was borrowed for the Skillman Village property. The current Democratic leadership is wedded to a so-called “village in a park” plan for high density residential -- at least 271 units -- and commercial development on the property. That would bring with it more traffic, more COAH obligations, more children in township schools, and, as surely as day follows night, more taxes. Worse yet, no developers bid on the project. Unless an alternative is found, Montgomery taxpayers will be saddled with this enormous debt for years to come.